Jalapeño-Lime Watermelon Salad

14 Comments

“When one has tasted watermelon he knows what the angels eat.” Mark Twain

We made this sweet n’ spicy delight using the Jalapeño-Lime Watermelon Salad recipe from Cookin’ Crunk, by Bianca Phillips, page 48. I can’t think of anything more refreshing than watermelon on a hot day, and when you add jalapeños, fresh basil, and lime to the mix look out because you won’t be able to get enough! That’s okay though, because all of that fresh fruit is good for you, and watermelon is 91% water anyway and it’s a great source of vitamin C.

Watermelon Facts: The first recorded watermelon harvest occurred nearly 5,000 years ago in Egypt and is depicted in Egyptian hieroglyphics on walls of their ancient buildings. Watermelons were often placed in the burial tombs of kings to nourish them in the afterlife.

 

14 thoughts on “Jalapeño-Lime Watermelon Salad

  1. That’s the summeriest, sweetest treat I’ve ever seen!!! Thanks K&L!!! Always deliverin’ the goody-goods!!!

  2. I love spicy VEGAN foods, so I’m definitely going to give this one a shot! I also like the look of your site! It’s always good to meet fellow vegans!

    • Hi Ryan, thank you so much for your very nice comments and for finding and following Vegetate, that’s wonderful! I am very pleased to make your acquaintance. 🙂 I’m following your wonderful photography blog now, too, it’s fantastic! Your photos are really beautiful, and I just got a DSLR, so I’ve getting my feet wet in the world of “real” photography just recently. I’ve got a long way to go, but it is so much fun.

Leave a reply

