Bean & Cheese Enchiladas

16 Comments

Bean & Cheese Enchiladas ~ From Vegetate, Vegan Cooking & Food Blog

“The whole enchilada.” Slang: the entirety of something, especially something impressive or outstanding.

Can I tell you how much I love warm, cheesy, melty, spicy enchiladas? These tangy, cheesy enchiladas grandes were chock full of Daiya vegan cheese, black beans, corn, onions, and spinach, and topped with home made enchilada sauce. They were simple to make, too. We soaked and cooked our own black beans in advance instead of using canned, which was extra tasty and nutritious.

From Betty Goes Vegan, page 263. Served with braised greens.

Enchilada Fact: Enchilada is the past participle of Spanish enchilar, “to add chile pepper to”, literally to “season (or decorate) with chile.”

16 thoughts on “Bean & Cheese Enchiladas

  1. So how is Daiya? I’ve seen people use it in recipes but I’ve never tried it. Is it fairly close in taste and texture to the bad stuff? 🙂

    • Hello Ryan! 🙂 You know, I love Daiya! It melts like crazy, which is something that I’ve never experienced with any store-bought vegan cheese in the past, so I was REALLY excited when they came out with their line of great vegan cheeses. I also love the fact that they are made using mainly tapioca flour, and are not only vegan, but free of gluten and soy. Don’t get me wrong, my diet isn’t gluten or soy free, but I like to cut back on both wherever I can. Anywho, the Daiya shreds are excellent melted on pizzas, burgers or in grilled cheeses. The wedges are tasty un-melted (but they melt just fine, too), and served with crackers or fruit. Truly super-tasty!

      • The entire fmlaiy went vegan last May. After we watched Forks over Knives how could we not. We had shifted to all organic and non GMO a year earlier. It for health reasons but it sure helps keeping a kosher kitchen and I don’t have to worry about timing either. Now, what to do with all these blue and red items? lol

        • Wow, I’m glad to hear that you and your family went vegan Ryan, that’s fantastic! Forks Over Knives is a powerful and informative film that I think everyone should see. 🙂

    • Hee hee, thanks for the great comment, HeartHomemade! I totally agree with you re: Daiya Mozarella Style Shreds. They don’t taste so good raw but once that cheese is melted, here I come! 😉 One flavor that I really do love raw however, is Daiya’s Jalapeno Garlic Havarti Style Wedge Cheese. That one is amazing on crackers or melted in a grilled cheese, and it’s spicy. 🙂

  2. looks great if you were home for our family picnic you could have made this Aunt Beth is making tacos love momk

Leave a reply

