Smoky Chipotle Pea Soup

10 Comments

Smoky Chipotle Pea Soup ~ From Vegetate, Vegan Cooking and Food Blog

“I feed on good soup, not beautiful language.”Molière

This Smoky, spicy pea soup from Cookin’ Crunk by Bianca Phillips (page 75) is just perfect for autumn lunches.

Made using peas, barley, chipotle chilis in adobo sauce, lots of veggies, and spices, it definitely warms you up inside with it’s healthy, hearty goodness!

This is a simple dish to make. We doubled the recipe, which made enough soup for lunches for two people for a week and left some over to freeze for future lunches.

Pea Soup Facts (from Wikipedia): Pea soup has been eaten since antiquity; it is mentioned in Aristophanes’ The Birds, and according to one source “The Greeks and Romans were cultivating this legume about 500 to 400 BC. During that era, vendors in the streets of Athens were selling hot pea soup.”

10 thoughts on “Smoky Chipotle Pea Soup

  1. “what did you have for breakfast?……pea soup
    what did you have for lunch?……pea soup
    what did you have for dinner?…..pea soup
    what did you do all night………….;-)”

    • Hee hee, thank you HSD! 🙂

      Peas porridge hot, peas porridge cold,
      Peas porridge in the pot, nine days old;
      Some like it hot, some like it cold,
      Some like it in the pot, nine days old.

      Or, in Laura Ingalls’ case, “Beans porridge hot…”

  2. Yay! I love when I come over here and, surprise, you made something from my book!! I’m so glad you liked it!! I actually made that soup smoky and named it that in honor of my friend Smoky (real name: Michael) who passed about 10 years ago. The publisher said it was too personal a story and I couldn’t include with the recipe. But I always think of him when I eat it. 🙂

    • Why thank you so much, Bianca! I love it when you come over for a little visit to Vegetate. 😉 This was hands down the BEST pea soup I’ve ever had. Your recipes are just fantastic! The smoky chipotles and barley were a really nice touch. I love your great story of this recipe, too. Smoky would be proud!

  3. Oh looks delicious! It’s definitely time to get these wonderful soups in the pot! Thanks for sharing, it reminded me to get started too. My body is a bit out of whack after returning from summer in Australia – so now I have to remind myself it’s not going to get warmer. haha Time for soup!

    • Aww, thanks for your great comments, genkikitty. A summer in Australia sounds like a dream vacation, wow! Welcome back… now it’s time to enjoy some nice hot soup! 😉

Leave a reply

